Who needs to be licensed for plumbing in Mississippi?
If you are doing work that amounts to more than $50,000 you must hold a valid plumber license. You do not need a license if you are doing plumbing (public or private) that amounts to less than $50,000 per project.
What are the types of plumbing licenses available in Mississippi?
- Journeyman Plumber
- Master Plumber
- Journeyman Plumber with Gas
- Master Plumber with Gas
- Residential Plumber
How do I get my plumbing license in Mississippi?
Fill out a commercial contractor License form. Go to page 8 and check the speciality box and write in Plumbing as the speciality. Fill out the rest of the form as required.
Once you complete the appropriate application and return it to the Board, they will notify PSI of your eligibility and PSI will email you a confirmation notice. The Board will determine which examination you or your qualifying individual will take.
You will have six (6) months from the date of eligibility to take the examination and you can retake it as many times as you need to during the six-month period. After six months, you must reapply with the Board.
You are required to take two exams:
- Mississippi Law and Business Management Exam
- Mississippi Plumbing License Exam
What can I expect from the Mississippi Master exam?
Each candidate will be given a packet containing an examination booklet, plans, an answer sheet, and a sheet for calculations. You will not need additional scratch paper. All of this material must be enclosed in the return envelope along with the original envelope and confirmed by the proctor.
Any comments pertinent to the examination or site should be recorded by you on a comment sheet available from the proctor and mailed to the Code Council. Under no circumstances are examination materials to be taken from the room.
Master Plumbing Exam
|Content Area||% of Total|
|Water supply and distribution||13%|
|Traps, Interceptors, and Separators||4%|
Is the Mississippi plumbing exam open book?
Yes, the 2012 International Plumbing Code is approved reference.
What if I have special needs?
If you have a disability that prohibits you from taking the examination under standard conditions, you may request special arrangements. Your request must accompany your registration form. In addition to the letter of request, a special accommodations form must be submitted. This form may be obtained by contacting the Candidate Services Coordinator at firstname.lastname@example.org or 1-888-422-7233 ext 5552. Please contact the department for instructions concerning the required information before you submit your application. Completed accommodations forms must be submitted and approved by the examination department a minimum of three months prior to the requested examination administration date.
What should I bring to the Mississippi plumber exam?
You must take two forms of identification
- One must be a valid form of government-issued identification (driver’s license, state ID, passport) which bears your signature and has your photograph.
- The second ID must have your signature and preprinted legal name
Arrive 30 minutes before your appointment.
You are responsible for bringing your own reference materials (2012 International Plumbing Code) to the examination center. They may be highlighted, underlined, and/or indexed prior to the examination session, but are not allowed to contain lengthy notes. You cannot write in the materials during the examination. You will have access to an online calculator or you can take a silent, nonprinting, nonprogrammable calculator in the examination center.
Where can I take the Mississippi Plumber exam?
Plumbing licensing exams can be taken at:
- Jackson Exam Center
2679 Crane Ridge Dr., Suite B
Jackson, MS 39216
You can take exam regionally located sites found in:
- Louisiana: Baton Rouge, New Orleans, Shreveport
- Alabama: Huntsville, Birmingham, Montgomery, and Mobile
Who issues the Mississippi plumbing exam?
Mississippi Contractor Licensing Board
P.O. Box 32039
2679 Crane Ridge Drive, Suite C
Jackson, MS 39216
Does Mississippi offer reciprocity for plumbing licenses?
The Mississippi State Board of Contractors has reciprocal agreements with
- Arkansas Contractors Board
- Georgia Board of Residential and General Contractors
- Louisiana Contractors Board
- North Carolina Electrical Contractors Board
- South Carolina Contractors Board
- Tennessee Contractors Board
If you have held a license in one of these states for three consecutive years, the board may waive your trade exam. But the Mississippi Law and Business Management exam are mandatory. Reciprocity applies to the waiver of the trade exam requirement only. It does not waive any of the other application requirements or review by the Board.
In order for the Mississippi State Board of Contractors to consider an applicant for reciprocity, the following requirements must be met:
- The applicant must show proof of current licensure with one of the boards referenced above by providing a completed verification form. The applicant must have held the license for 3 consecutive years and be free of any disciplinary action taken against it during the 3-year time frame.
- The applicant must complete and submit an application with all required documentation and fees to the Mississippi State Board of Contractors.(applicant must complete part 1 of the verification form and mail to one of the above-named states to complete part 2.
Is there any way to be waived from the Mississippi plumbing exam?
The Board may waive your trade exam but not the mandatory Mississippi Law and Business Management exam.
How do I renew my Mississippi plumber license?
You can renew your license online here.
You can fill the commercial License Renewal Form here and mail the form with a check or money order payable to MSBOC in the amount of $400 before the expiration date indicated on your license. If your license has expired the fee is $450. Fees are non-refundable.
You can fill the residential license renewal form here and mail the form with a check or money order made payable to MSBOC in the amount of $100 before the expiration date indicated on your license. If your license has expired the fee is $110.
If your license has been expired for more than 180 days, you must submit a new application. TO obtain a new application go to www.msboc.us.
Do I need continuing education to maintain my Mississippi plumber license?
No, continued education is not a requirement for plumbers in Mississippi.
How often do I have to renew my Mississippi plumber license?
Licenses expire annually on the last day of the twelfth month following its issuance or renewal and will be invalid if not renewed.