Vermont Plumber’s License Renewal Update & FAQ

In May, Vermont Governor Phil Scott signed Act 100 into law extending plumbing licenses due to expire after March 30 to September 30, 2020.

The full press release says this extension is a response to trade workers struggling to obtain continuing education credits for license renewal because either classes were cancelled, or online classes were not obtainable. The state also recommends that all license holders who have a license due to expire after September 30, 2020 should start exploring all available options for obtaining continuing education credits.

We want you to know that our state-approved continuing education courses are 100% online and available from any device with an internet connection. If you have been unable to renew your license, click here to register for our 8 credit-hour course.

See below for some License Renewal FAQs:

How often do I renew my Vermont plumber license?

You must renew your license every two years. If your license has lapsed, it may be renewed within 90 days of its expiration date along with a $15 reinstatement fee in addition to the renewal fee.

If your license has lapsed past 90 days, you must apply for reinstatement and appear before the board. Applicants for license renewal must provide the board with evidence of completion of 8 hours of continuing education or training that is board-approved, completed within the previous 2 years and two of which must be code review. A copy of a certificate is acceptable evidence of this.

Is continuing education required to renew my Vermont master plumbing license?

Yes, you must complete 8-hours of continuing education each cycle including 2-hours of code review.

Who issues the Vermont plumbing license?

The Department of Public Safety, Division of Fire Safety
1311 US Route 302 – Suite 600
Barre, VT 05641

Phone:  802-479-7561
Toll-Free:  800- 640-2106

Vermont Plumbing License Renewal FAQ’s

Who needs to be licensed for plumbing in Vermont?

Individuals must be licensed to perform any type of plumbing work without a licensed supervisor.

Is continuing education required to renew my Vermont plumbing license?

Yes, you must complete 8-hours of continuing education each licensing cycle, including 2-hours of code review.

How often do I renew my Vermont plumber license?

You must renew your license every two years. If your license has lapsed, it may be renewed within 90 days of its expiration date along with a $15 reinstatement fee in addition to the renewal fee.

If your license has lapsed past 90 days, you must apply for reinstatement and appear before the board. Applicants for license renewal must provide the board with evidence of completion of 8-hours of continuing education or training that is board-approved, completed within the previous 2 years and two of which must be code review. A copy of a certificate is acceptable evidence of this.

What fees are associated with renewing my plumbing license in Vermont?

  1. Master plumber license: $120
  2. Journeyman plumber license: $90
  3. Specialist license (per specialty field): $50
  4. License certificate: $10

Who can I contact with at the state level with further questions?

Department of Public Safety
Division of Fire Safety

Mailing: 1311 U.S. Route 302 – Suite 600
Barre, VT 05641

Phone: (802) 479-7561
Fax: (802) 479-7562


ONLINE VERMONT PLUMBER CONTINUING EDUCATION

Vermont Plumbers, We Have You Covered

Whether you're interested in obtaining a journeyman or master plumber license or you need to complete state-approved continuing education to renew, we have the courses you need. Our online exam prep programs are tailored to the Vermont journeyman and master plumbers exams. Below are the most commonly asked licensing questions.

How do I become a journeyman plumber in Vermont?

  1. Meet state requirements
    • Include Certificate of Completion provided by the Vermont State Apprenticeship Council,
    • A certified statement of licensure or completed apprenticeship from another state acceptable to the board,
    • OR Document showing successful completion of the instruction, training an experience in or out of the state acceptable to the board (to include at least 12,000 hours).
      All hours must be documented by affidavits from a licensed Master Plumber.
  2. Complete a Journeyman License Application
  3. Pay the $90 Application Fee
  4. Pass the Journeyman Plumber Exam - Study before you test!

How do I become a master plumber in Vermont?

  1. Meet state requirements
    • Licensed as a Vermont Journeyman for at least 12 months
    • OR Currently licensed outside the state for 1 year equal to a Vermont Journeyman
    • OR Any person who completes an application for a Master License and documents successful completion of
      instruction, training, and experience in or out of the state acceptable to the board. (to include at least 14,000hrs )
      All hours must be documented by affidavits from a licensed Master Plumber
  2. Complete a Master License Application
  3. Pay the $120 Application Fee
  4. Pass the Master Plumber Exam - Study before you test!

What are the examination fees for plumbers’ in Vermont?

$65 for pencil and paper exam, $100 for computer exam.

What fees are associated with a plumbing license in Vermont?

For a Journeyman, $90
For a Master, $120

How often do I renew my Vermont plumber license?

You must renew your license every two years. If your license has lapsed, it may be renewed within 90 days of its expiration date along with a $15 reinstatement fee in addition to the renewal fee.

If your license has lapsed past 90 days, you must apply for reinstatement and appear before the board. Applicants for license renewal must provide the board with evidence of completion of 8 hours of continuing education or training that is board-approved, completed within the previous 2 years and two of which must be code review. A copy of a certificate is acceptable evidence of this.

Is continuing education required to renew my Vermont master plumbing license?

Yes, you must complete 8-hours of continuing education each cycle including 2-hours of code review.


ATTENTION PLUMBERS AND PLUMBING INSPECTORS

We are looking for instructors and presenters to help us grow our plumbing school. If you are a UPC plumber, have experience working with Fire Sprinkler Systems or have ideas for plumber courses, we want to hear from you. 

Benefits to becoming part of our instructor/presenter team

  • Opportunity to create course materials or simply present materials we have created.
  • Option for bulk payment or passive income
  • Nationwide name recognition in your field
Live Chat
Scroll Up