How To Become A Licensed Plumber In Utah

If you’re thinking of becoming a licensed plumber in the state of Utah, there are a few steps you should follow.

  1. Read the FAQ’s listed below
  2. Take the appropriate Exam Prep Course
  3. Meet all State requirements
  4. Study! Study! Study!

What are the plumbing categories in Utah?

  • Journeyman Plumber - means a person licensed under this chapter as a journeyman plumber having the qualifications, training, experience, and technical knowledge to engage in the plumbing trade.
  • Residential Journeyman Plumber - means a person licensed under this chapter as a residential journeyman plumber having the qualifications, training, experience, and knowledge to engage in the plumbing trade as limited to the plumbing of residential buildings.
  • Master Plumber - means a person licensed under this chapter as a master plumber having the qualifications, training, experience, and knowledge to properly plan and layout projects and supervise persons in the plumbing trade.
  • Residential Master Plumber - means a person licensed under this chapter as a residential master plumber having the qualifications, training, experience, and knowledge to properly plan and layout projects and supervise persons in the plumbing trade as limited to the plumbing of residential buildings.

How do I become a journeyman plumber in Utah?

  1. Meet state requirements
    • Complete 8,000 hours of training in four years including 576 clock hours of classroom instruction as an apprentice
      OR
    • 16,000 hours of on the job training and instruction in 8 years as an apprentice
      See the Plumber Licensing Act Rule for more details https://dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-55c.pdf
  2. Complete a Journeyman Plumber Application Online or in Hard Copy
  3. Pay the $110 non-refundable application processing fee
  4. Pass the Utah plumber's written and practical exams - study for your test!

How do I become a RESIDENTIAL journeyman plumber in Utah?

  1. Meet state requirements
    • Complete 6,000 hours of training in three years including 432 clock hours of classroom instruction as an apprentice
      OR
    • 12,000 hours of on the job training and instruction in six years as an apprentice
      See the Plumber Licensing Act Rule for more details https://dopl.utah.gov/laws/R156-55c.pdf
  2. Complete a Journeyman Plumber Application Online or in Hard Copy
  3. Pay the $110 non-refundable application processing fee
  4. Pass the Utah plumber's written and practical exams - study for your test!

What are the examination fees for the plumbers’ license in Utah?

There are two parts that must be passed: the theory and practical. For the theory exam, the first time fee is $86 with retake exams costing $72. The practical is $100 for both first times and retakes.

What are the plumbing licensing fees in Utah?

There is an application fee of $110 and a renewal fee of $63

Where can I take the Utah plumbers license exam?

  • Hurricane (St. George) (Written Only)
  • North Orem (Provo) (Written Only)
  • North Salt Lake City (Written Only)
  • St. George (Practical Only):
  • Salt Lake Community College (Practical Only)
  • Sunset (Ogden) (Written Only)
  • Grand Junction (Written Only)

How do I know if I passed the Utah plumber exam?

  • Theory Exam - In order to pass the examinations, you must receive a score of at least 70%. You will receive your score report immediately following the completion of the examination.
  • Practical Exam - Your practical examination score report will be mailed within 15 days after the examination date. You will receive either a PASS or FAIL. All score reports are mailed simultaneously. To ensure confidentiality, examination results will not be given over the phone.

Is continuing education required to renew a Utah plumbing license?

Yes, all licensed plumbers must complete 12-hours of approved continuing education by November 30th, 2018. Plumbers Training Institute offers 12-hours of approved continuing education online in video.

Who do I contact regarding a plumbing license in Utah?

For general licensing questions, call:(801) 530-6628 | (866) 275-3675 Toll-Free in Utah

State of Utah Department of Commerce
Division of Occupational and Professional Licensing

160 East 300 South, P.O. Box 146741
Salt Lake City, UT 84114-6741
www.dopl.utah.gov

telephone (801) 530-6628
toll-free in Utah (866) 275-3675
fax (801) 530-6511

Scroll Up