Louisiana Plumber Licensing FAQs

Answers to frequently asked questions about Louisiana’s plumber licensing and continuing education

How to Get a Louisiana Journeyman Plumber License

  1. Meet the minimum state experience requirements:
    1. Be a currently registered apprentice through the State Plumbing Board and have completed or be in the last year of the Apprenticeship Program
    2. Have 5 years (8,000 hours) documented on-the-job experience
  2. Apply for exam qualification
  3. Take and pass your exam
  4. Submit a completed Initial Journeyman license form along with applicable fees within 90 days of passing the exam

How to Get a Louisiana Master Plumber License

  1. Meet the minimum state experience requirements:
    1. Have a current Journeyman Plumbing License OR
    2. Have a current Engineer licenses from the Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board
  2. Apply for exam qualification
  3. Take and pass your exam
  4. Submit a completed Initial Master Plumber license form along with applicable fees within 90 days of passing the exam

Louisiana Plumber Renewal Requirements

Renewal Deadline: Licenses expire on December 31st every year.

Continuing Education: All licensed plumbers must complete an SPBLA approved* course annually.

*Please note, our courses are not currently approved for continuing education credit in Louisiana

Getting Licensed

Who needs to be licensed for plumbing in Louisiana?

If you are looking to become a plumber in Louisiana, you must abide by the contracting laws set by the State Plumbing Board of Louisiana (SPBL). Those looking to become a plumber must start as an apprentice, upgrade to a journeyman, then finish at a master level. If you do not wish to become a journeyman or master, then you may become a plumbing tradesman, meaning you can perform maintenance on existing plumbing. 

If you will be performing specialty services or jobs valued over $10,000, you will need to obtain a Louisiana general contracting license. It is important to understand the requirements needed for this type of license, as it is required in addition to your plumbing license.

What are the types of plumbing licenses available in Louisiana?

  • Apprentice
  • Tradesman
  • Journeyman
  • Master
  • Med Gas
  • Journeyman Natural Gas Fitter
  • Master Natural Gas Fitter
  • Water Supply Protection Specialist Endorsement (WSPS)
    • Must be Journeyman or Master Plumber

Does Louisiana have reciprocal licensing with other states?

The State Plumbing Board of Louisiana does not reciprocate licenses; however, if you have a valid plumbing license in another state, you may use it to qualify to take the Journeyman plumbing exam. 

What fees are associated with becoming a plumber in Louisiana?

Journeyman

  • Exam: $135
  • License: $50
  • Renewal: $50

Master

  • Exam: $110
  • License: $190
  • Renewal: $190

Renewing a License

When do I need to renew my Louisiana plumbing license?

All licenses expire December 31st, annually.

How do I renew my plumbing license in Louisiana?

  1. Ensure you have completed your required continuing education course.
  2. Go online to find the annual renewal form.
  3. Complete and return the form to the board with the applicable fees.

Do I need continuing education to renew my plumbing license in Louisiana?

Yes, Louisiana plumbers are required to complete an approved* continuing education course every year by December 31st.

*Please note, our courses are not currently approved for continuing education credit in Louisiana

How do I get my journeyman plumbing license in Louisiana?

  1. Meet the minimum state experience requirements:
    1. Be a currently registered apprentice through the State Plumbing Board and have completed or be in the last year of the Apprenticeship Program
    2. Have 5 years (8,000 hours) documented on-the-job experience
  2. Apply for exam qualification
  3. Take and pass your exam
  4. Submit a completed Initial Journeyman license form along with applicable fees within 90 days of passing the exam

What fees are associated with becoming a journeyman plumber in Louisiana?

  • Exam: $135
  • License: $50
  • Renewal: $50

When can I take the Louisiana journeyman plumbing exam?

You must apply to the board for approval at least 30 days prior to your desired exam date. Journeyman examinations are held in January, April, July and October every year*.

*Examination dates are subject to change due to conditions beyond the control of the Board.

What can I expect from the Louisiana journeyman plumbing exam?

The exam consists of 2 parts, a written exam and a hands-on practical exam.

Written Exam:

80 questions, 3 hour time limit

Reference material the exam is based on:

  • 2015 International Plumbing Code (IPC)
  • 2015 International Residential Code (IRC)
  • Louisiana Title 17, Construction (Last amended December 2019)

Practical Exam:

  • Floor Plan Project
  • Screw Pipe Project
  • Copper Project

How do I know if I passed the Louisiana journeyman plumber exam?

Upon passing the examination, each applicant will be notified to complete the Initial Journeyman License form and return it with a $50.00 fee for their license.

Note: Passing scores are only valid for ninety (90) days. If an applicant fails to send in the appropriate form and payment within the ninety (90) days, the applicant will forfeit their scores and will have to retake the entire examination.

What happens if I fail my exam?

Upon failing the examination, each applicant will be notified of their failing scores and provided a Retake Form in order to apply to be re-scheduled for examination. If an applicant passes one part but not the other, the passing score will be good for one (1) year. The applicant must take the exam again within that year in order to keep the passing score.

How do I get my master plumber license in Louisiana?

  1. Meet the minimum state experience requirements:
    1. Have a current Journeyman Plumbing License OR
    2. Have a current Engineer licenses from the Professional Engineering and Land Surveying Board
  2. Apply for exam qualification
  3. Take and pass your exam
  4. Submit a completed Initial Master Plumber license form along with applicable fees within 90 days of passing the exam

What fees are associated with becoming a master plumber in Louisiana?

  • Exam: $110
  • License: $190
  • Renewal: $190

When can I take Louisiana master plumber exam?

You must apply to the board for approval at least 30 days prior to your desired exam date. Master examinations are held in February, May, August and November every year*.

*Examination dates are subject to change due to conditions beyond the control of the Board.

What can I expect from the Louisiana master plumber exam?

The exam consists of three parts.

Part 1:

80 question written exam with a 3 hour time limit. Based on the following materials:

  • 2015 International Plumbing Code
  • 2015 International Residential Code
  • Louisiana Title 17: Construction (December 2019)

Part 2:

25 question exam with a 2 hour time limit. Based on the following material:

  • Title 51 Public Health Sanitary Code (Part 13)

Part 3:

40 question exam with a 2 hour time limit. Based on the following material:

  • NASCLA Louisiana Master Plumbers and Master Natural Gasfitters Guide to Business, Law, and Project Management, 2nd Edition

How do I know if I passed the Louisiana master plumber exam?

Upon passing the examination, each applicant will be notified to complete the Initial Master Plumber License form and return it with a $190.00 Active license fee or $40 Inactive license fee for their license.

Note: Passing scores are only valid for ninety (90) days. If an applicant fails to send in the appropriate form and payment within the ninety (90) days, the applicant will forfeit their scores and will have to retake the entire examination.

What happens if I fail my exam?

Upon failing the examination, each applicant will be notified of their failing scores and provided a Retake Form in order to apply to be re-scheduled for examination. If an applicant passes one part but not the other, the passing score will be good for one (1) year. The applicant must take the exam again within that year in order to keep the passing score.

Is continuing education required to renew my Louisiana plumber license?

Louisiana plumbers are required to complete an approved continuing education course every year by December 31st.

Are your courses approved for continuing education in Louisiana?

Our courses are not currently approved for continuing education credit in Louisiana

What is professional development?

Things in the plumbing industry change often. As a professional in your trade it is important to keep your knowledge base up to date so you can make practical decisions for your business. Professional development courses are designed to help you improve your industry knowledge. Whether you are looking for information on new avenues to pursue in your business, wanting to brush up on best practices, or are just interested in learning about a particular topic: professional development is for you!

Is professional development the same as continuing education?

Professional development is different from continuing education. Continuing education courses are mandatory courses that your licensing body wants you to take in order to maintain your license.

State Plumbing Board of Louisiana
11304 Cloverland Ave
Baton Rouge, LA 70809
(225) 756-3434
https://spbla.com/

Exams are scheduled through the board.

Once I order the course, how long before I can start?

You may begin immediately! Simply click the Login button in the upper right-hand corner on your desktop or in the upper-right menu on mobile. Once you’ve entered your login and password, you will be taken to your courses. Follow the instructions and enjoy!

Once I start an online course, will I be able to start and stop at any time?

Our courses are available online 24/7 and you are able to log in and log out at any time during the course. If you are going to be away from your computer for more than 10-15 minutes, simply log out. When you log back in, you will be able to re-enter the lesson you were last in.

How long do your continuing education courses take to complete?

Continuing education requirements vary by state. Each course lists a minimum number of credit hours required to complete the course.

How long do your exam prep courses take to complete?

This question really depends on your learning style and comfort level with the topics we cover. There is no set time for completing exam prep courses — you get to go at your own pace! Many plumbers like to re-watch materials, some like to just re-take the practice tests. Our recommendation is for you to go through the course as many times as you need to be comfortable with the material and any applicable reference books. The more familiar you are with the materials, the better you will do on your exam!

How long do I have the courses?

We allow up to 6 months for you to complete the courses. During the six months you have unlimited, 24/7 access. If you need additional time, please contact our offices to arrange an extension (please note: a fee may apply).

Are there tests in the courses?

This varies depending on whether the course is continuing education or exam prep.

There are no quizzes for continuing education courses in Michigan. All other states with continuing education require quizzes to check completion progress.

In exam prep courses there will be a short quiz at the end of each lesson and there is also a longer practice test at the end of each course. These quizzes and tests will help you practice taking an exam and identify areas you may wish to study more.

If I fail a practice test, do I have to take it again?

Practice tests are just that: for practice. You will have the opportunity to retake the practice tests until you do pass. The practice tests are there to help you get used to the process of using your reference materials and finding the correct answers during an exam. If you don’t pass on the first try, take the time to note what sections of the material you need to review.

Once I complete a course, can I still go back and review the lessons and quizzes?

You are able to review the lessons and quizzes at any time during the six months you’ll have access to the courses.

Scroll Up